Friday, May 24, 2019

Rankings Unchanged as COMELEC Announces WINNING SENATORS for 2019 MIDTERMS

When the planned proclamation of the winners in the 2019 Philippine Midterm Senatorial Elections yesterday did not materialize, there had been concerns. Then again, an announcement would not do when the race for 12th place was a bit close to the next two candidates in the ranking. What was needed was an overseas certificate of canvass from Los Angeles with some 200,000 votes to really settle the 12-13-14 positions. And apparently that was enough. The postponed official proclamation of Midterm Senators did not last very long. The very next day, the COMELEC National Board of Canvassers finally did the thing.
CNN Philippines reports that the official proclamation pushed through in the morning of Wednesday, May 22 at around 10 AM. It was held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City. Invitations were sent out to the winning Senators who brought their families and supporters in the audience while the COMELEC Chairman and Commissioners sat as the NBC. Following the opening formalities, the announcement of the Midterm Senators-Elect was done. Even with the added votes from overseas COCs the official ranking remained unchanged aside from boosted numbers. Here then are the official winners and their final vote counts.
Cynthia Villar led the batch with 25,283,727 votes; Grace Poe followed with 22,029,788; Bong Go took the Bronze with 20,657,702. From there, the rest of the Senators are: Pia Cayetano (19,789,019), Ronald dela Rosa (19,004,225), Sonny Angara (18,161,862), Lito Lapid (16,965,464), Imee Marcos (15,882,628), Francis Tolentino (15,510,026), Koko Pimentel (14,668,665), Ramon Bong Revilla (14,624,445), and finally Nancy Binay, whose final count of 14,504,936 secured her position against close competition from the 13th placer JV Ejercito (14,313,727) and 14th placer Bam Aquino (14,144,923). COMELEC estimated that about 74.31% of all registered voters in the Philippines cast their votes during the election, amounting to 47,296,442 validated ballots.
With the winners finally made known, The COMELEC Chairman and Commissioners took turns presenting each new Senator with their certificates of proclamation, starting from the 12th ranked Nancy Binay. Each certificate reading and formal awarding was followed by photo-ops as families and friends of each new Senator joined them onstage. This is only the second stage of the official proclamation of winners for the Midterm polls. Another announcement will be done tonight at 7 PM to welcome the new Party List groups that have gotten seats in the next Congress.
Image from Top News Philippines


Post a Comment