Friday, August 17, 2018

2019 Philippine REGULAR and SPECIAL HOLIDAY Schedule Released by PALACE

Some government and private employees may be loath to admit it to the same levels as a majority of students at school, but it is true that many people look forward to the year’s Holidays. These are the days when classes are cancelled and no work is scheduled; that is something to like, right? Well, owing to the number of special occasions happening in the Philippines within a year, it often becomes necessary for the government to lay down what days actually have no work and no school. As it turns out, Malacañang Palace has finalized which days in 2019 will be regarded as holidays.
ABS-CBN News notes that the Palaca has just released an official announcement on the list of recognized public holidays for the next year. Proclamation No. 555, with was released to the press on Thursday, August 16, contains all the dates that are considered “Regular” holidays (no class, no work) and “Special” (normally no class only, but approved to have no business either) holidays for 2019.
REGULAR HOLIDAYS (Off for students and working employees)
  1. New Year’s Day – January 1 (a Tuesday)
  2. Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (a Tuesday)
  3. Holy Thursday – April 18
  4. Good Friday – April 19
  5. Labor Day – May 1 (a Wednesday)
  6. Independence Day – June 12 (a Wednesday)
  7. National Heroes Day – August 26 (the last Monday of August 2019)
  8. Bonifacio Day – November 30 (a Saturday)
  9. Christmas Day – December 25 (a Wednesday)
  10. Rizal Day – December 30 (a Monday)
SPECIAL (NON-WORKING) HOLIDAYS (Employees have the day off, along with students)
  1. Chinese New Year – February 5 (a Tuesday)
  2. EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (a Monday)
  3. Black Saturday – April 20
  4. Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (a Wednesday)
  5. All Saints Day – November 1 (a Friday)
  6. All Souls Day – November 2 (a Saturday)
  7. Feast of the Immaculate Conception – December 8 (a Sunday)
  8. Christmas Eve – December 24 (a Tuesday)
  9. Last Day of the Year – December 31 (a Tuesday)
Malacañang’s Proclamation No. 555 also states that there will also be Holidays declared for the major events in the Muslim calendar (Eid al-Adha and Eid al-Fitr). However, due to these particular holidays being more heavily reliant on the phases of the moon, the Palace will wait until Muslim religious authorities have decided on the appropriate date before making a Special/Non-Working Holiday declaration for said days.
Image courtesy of ADOBO Today


Post a Comment